SOLVED
Go to solution
Shawn_4
Occasional Advisor

FC10 RAID 1 and Channel Seperation

Gang:

Newbie here - be gentle !

Setup:

I have one L2000 class box, two fibre channel controllers connected to one FC10 10x18GB disk array.

Goal:

To have one huge lvol mirrored within a single volume group on this array (RAID 1)...

Question:

Do I have to do anything special to acheive full channel seperation in this configuration ?

If I do an ioscan - I can see two controllers and twenty drives ( viewed through each controller).

If I view through SAM - it appears as 10 drives and one controller.

Does LVM and the Tachyon Fibre Channel bundle automatically provide for channel seperation and load balancing and therefore all I need to do is create a VG and mirrored LV though SAM or do I have to create two PVG's with five drives each ?

Hope this makes sense !

Shawn.
13 REPLIES 13
Andreas Voss
Honored Contributor

Re: FC10 RAID 1 and Channel Seperation

Hi,

i would do a vgdisplay -v to see if the vg has alternate links in it.
If not you can add this with the device files listed from ioscan and doing vgextend

Regards
Shawn_4
Occasional Advisor

Andreas:

I haven't created any VG's yet - I just want to get this straight before I start..

Let's remove SAM from the picture for a moment and talk about pvcreate ...

In my configuration - disk0 on the disk array has two sets of device files ...

/dev/dsk/c4t0d0 and /dev/rdsk/c4t0d0

and

/dev/dsk/c5t0d0 and /dev/rdsk/c5t0d0

same disk - two controllers ?

If I was to pvcreate this drive - would I just flip a coin and pick heads or tails in terms of which controller to use ?

Or - more importantly - am I missing some important piece of understanding or software that provides for a higher level of device abstraction - one that views these drives as single devices ?

Shawn.
Andreas Voss
Honored Contributor

Hi,

i'm not familar with the FC10 but i would do:
pvcreate /dev/rdsk/c4t0d0
And then look with:
pvdisplay /dev/dsk/c4t0d0