1763607 Members
3429 Online
108913 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: jetadmin

Jeffrey F. Goldsmith
Super Advisor

jetadmin

I have an rp3440-4 that came with HP-UX 11.23 installed. What is the latest best way to install printers on the server? I have been using Jetadmin for the past 10 years or so but I was wondering if there was anything else out there that I could use. Other wise I need to find the link to Jetadmin so I can download it.
The reason I am asking if there was something else besides jetadmin is that I install other printer other than HP printers and would like to be able to install them with their drivers not some HP knock off driver.

Thanks.
3 REPLIES 3
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

The replacement is JetDirect. You execute 'hppi' rather than 'jetadmin' but you should feel right at home.

http://h20180.www2.hp.com/apps/Lookup?h_query=jet+direct+printer+installer&h_tool=software&h_lang=en
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
Geoff Wild
Honored Contributor

Which other printers?

Xerox? Lexmark?

Xerox printer require the installation of Xerox print drivers:

cd /usr/local/src/xerox
tar xvf HPUXXPXX_3.01.48.tar
cd HPUXXpxxInstall
touch /tmp/iprprt.lock
tail -f /etc/cmcluster/IPRPRT/*.log
./setup

File downloaded from:
http://www.support.xerox.com/go/results.asp?Xlang=en_US&XCntry=USA&prodID=DC440&ripId=

To add a printer you must use the Xerox printer installer: xpadmin

The Lexmark driver package must be installed first.

The file to download from http://drivers.lexmark.com/ is DRIVERS-HPUX1X.PKG.Z

uncompress it then swinstall it.

It will install "Lexmark Enhanced Printer Drivers Package" and "Lexmark Screen Fonts Package". After completion, run: /opt/lexmark/setup.print (use the default of bin for Administrative group, and install fonts as an additional font directory.

Then use lexprt program to add queues.

Rgds...Geoff