New Discussion

lpstat -v shows device as /dev/null

SOLVED
Go to solution
biizz
Occasional Collector

lpstat -v shows device as /dev/null

Hello,

I am new to HP-UX servers, can someone explain to me what does the /dev/null in the result of "lpstat -v" means? Been trying to search the answer but could not find any. Most of the printer queue on the server is pointing to /dev/null

Here is the sample result:

# lpstat -v <printqueue>
device for <printqueue>: /dev/null

Also, what is the difference from this lpstat result?

# lpstat -v <printqueue>
device for <printqueue>: /dev/null
remote to IP

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: lpstat -v shows device as /dev/null

HP-UX has been around for a long time and back in the old days, printers used a parallel interface known as a Centronix interace. Another interface was called HP-IB. Both are actual devices, like a tape drive. Then printers adopted RS-232 (serial) as an interface, but still a device.

But none of these printers could be very far away from the computer, typically in the computer room. Cable lengths were very short (10 to 50 ft). So the concept of sharing a printer over the network became a reality. It was called remote line printer (rlp) and now there is no device. Instead, the spooler must negotiate over the network with another computer and send the job over a network connection. lpr was mostly Unix in implementation until Windows adopted a compatible lpr (aka, printer sharing).

As the 1980s rolled along, printers became much cheaper and smaller and the demand to send print jobs directly to the printer became a possibility. The printer actually had a LAN port and IP address. And inside was a tiny computer that knew how to negotiate the lpr protoco over port 515.