New Discussion юеВ

MC/ServiceGuard

SOLVED
Go to solution
Subramanian_2
Occasional Advisor

MC/ServiceGuard

Hi,
I am new to MC/Serviceguard. I have an application which I need to be configured on a failover cluster using MC/Serviceguard.

I read the documnetation and found that there are two basic files that i need to configure:-
Package Configuration file and
Package Control File

However is it necessary to configure 'Package Control File'

My application has the following basic needs
(It is a database application):-
1)If the application fails on a node because of hardware errors, it needs to restart on a designated alternate node
2) If the application fails on a node because of software errors, it needs to restart on the same node

From what I read, I understood that Condition 1 can be taken care of by modifying the Package Configuration file
But I am not sure if condition 2 can be taken care of by modifying the Package Configuration file.

I read about restarting services by modifying the package control service. Can someone please explain thye difference between a package and a service?
Also I could gather that I need to write two scripts - for 'run' and 'halt'
Do we have any scripts for monitoring, probing, updating etc. (these are provided by Sun Clustering software)

Please help.

Regards,
Subramanian S
11 REPLIES 11
Geoff Wild
Honored Contributor

Re: MC/ServiceGuard

A package is a set of applications and/or services. And yes, you need a package control file.

A good doc is:

http://docs.hp.com/hpux/onlinedocs/B3936-90073/B3936-90073.html

Rgds...Geoff
Proverbs 3:5,6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make all your paths straight.
Kent Ostby
Honored Contributor

The first place to look of course is the managing ServiceGuard manual.

http://docs.hp.com/hpux/ha/index.html#ServiceGuard

See also the attached document on setting up a ServiceGuard package.