3388 Online
108836 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Network

Lesley Reilly
Occasional Contributor

Network

Hi

I am trying to network a HP pavilion computer (the host computer) to an 'emachine' I have added an network card to the HP machine (the emachine already has ethernet installed) when I use the XP wizard on the emachine everything appears to be fine - but when I run the wizard on the HP machine I get the attached message. Can anyone give me advice as to how to sort this out - by the way I am no techie - so if you could keep it simple I would appreciate it!

Thanks

Lesley
2 REPLIES 2
James Specht
Trusted Contributor

If you are connecting them without a switch or hub then you have to use a cross-over cable a standard network cable will not work when directly connect.

--Jim
"Everyone can be taught to sculpt: Michelangelo would have had to be taught how not to. So it is with the great programmers."
Ron Kinner
Honored Contributor

After you installed the network card did the HP find it and install it? Right click on My Network Places and select Properties. In the window that comes up you should have a Local Area Connection of type LAN. This should be your new network card. If you do not see it then you need to go to Control Panel and select Add Hardware and get the card installed before anything else is going to work. You can also look under Control Panel/System/Hardware/Device Manager where you should see an entry for Network Adapters. Click on it and it should show you your network card. IF it has a red or yellow mark next to it then it is not working correctly. Best to use Device manager to remove it and the reboot and let Windows find it. IF it does not appear at all then you did not install it correctly (Are you sure you got it fully seated in its connector? Turn Power off before playing with it.) or you still need to use the Add Hardware wizzard.