4875 Online
108813 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Using a PCL file with the "lp" command in UNIX

SOLVED
Go to solution
Lynne Paris

Using a PCL file with the "lp" command in UNIX

I'm new to PCL, so please forgive my ignorance....

We are currently using a HP LaserJet 8000 printer and printing from UNIX. In the past (sorry, not sure what type of printer we used before), we had created separate PCL files (with a .pcl extension) and fed those to the lp command to get the output formatted the way we wanted. For example:

lp -d sample.pcl

where sample.pcl contains the relevant PCL codes to get the output correctly formatted. Now it treats these as as two files, trying to print the .pcl file rather than using it to give format commands to the printer.

Is there a different command we should be using? Or are their settings we need to configure on the printer?

Thanks for any help!!
9 REPLIES 9
Sanjay_6
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Using a PCL file with the "lp" command in UNIX

Hi Lynne,

How is the printer connected to the system. Is it through the network or on the local parallel port. If it is on the local parallel port, you can cat the file on the parallel port and see is it works,

cat sample.pcl file_name > /dev/lp0

Make sure lp0 is the device file for the parallel port on which the printer is connected locally.

I can't say how you could be printing the two files together in one single command without the printer trying to print it as two seperate files. The only option could have been without a formfeed between the two prints. In such a case the first file contain some printer setting commands and the 2nd file is the actual printout. You can try it by turning the page feed after printout off.

Hope this helps.

Regds
Steve Steel
Honored Contributor

Hi

Assuming you are using Jetdirect there is a man page.

net_ljx000(1) net_ljx000(1)

NAME
net_ljx000 - HP JetAdmin model script

SYNOPSIS
lp [ -o option [ -o option ] ...]

DESCRIPTION