Operating System - OpenVMS
1751778 Members
4691 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Easy way to add a users to multiple nodes???

Leon Ross
Occasional Contributor

Easy way to add a users to multiple nodes???

Hello,
I am trying to figure out if there is an easy way add a user to multiple nodes networked together using decnet. I don't want to have to copy the sysuaf.dat every time a new user needs to be added. I have about 10 machines and don't really want to manually add the user. Is there anyway to broadcast the command to all nodes at the same time or something along those lines.

I am very new to system administration and OpenVMS. We don't have a system admin here so I took the role :)

Any help would be great.

Leon
8 REPLIES 8
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Re: Easy way to add a users to multiple nodes???

Leon,

First, please allow me to welcome you to the ITRC OpenVMS Forum.

While it will need a little bit of scaffolding, one can certainly use the SYSMAN DO command to issue commands on remote systems (in this case to AUTHORIZE, DISKQUOTA, and other programs in turn). This can be automated in a variety of ways, but caution is required to avoid creating a security hazard).

You will also need to keep track of UIC and Identifier allocation in some central place. There is no inherent mechanism for coordinating the UIC and Identifier allocation policies among different machines (other than those in a OpenVMS cluster sharing a single authorization file).

Depending on one's situation, one might also be able to achieve a degree of common authentication among the different systems.

What can be done depends on how sophisticated one needs to be, and what version(s) of OpenVMS one is working with.

My apologies for being somewhat terse, I am writing this in a rush before going into a client meeting.

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
Hein van den Heuvel
Honored Contributor

Did you manage to keep UIC's in Sync?