Operating System - OpenVMS
1754793 Members
4068 Online
108825 Solutions
New Discussion

How to Oracle RDB start a read-only PASCAL program

Techy911

How to Oracle RDB start a read-only PASCAL program

I am new to Pascal and Oracle RDB and it seems odd that the program I will work on STARTs the dB via EXEC SQL SET TRANSACTION ON variable_handle_name USING READ ONLY; DB_OPERATION := 'Start_RO_dB';

After the successful START then a Cursor FETCH, process the data, it will COMMIT.  Why would the program COMMIT a read only program?  Please let me know what I am missing.  There are no MODIFY/INSERT/DELETE statements of any variety.  This program generates an exception report that could have one to few records output.

Thank you

1 REPLY 1
Mark_Corcoran
Frequent Advisor

Re: How to Oracle RDB start a read-only PASCAL program

The Oracle RDB SQL Reference Manual Volume 4 (RDB release 7.1.4.3, December 2005) that I have says the following:

A transaction ends with a COMMIT or ROLLBACK statement. If you end the
transaction with the COMMIT statement, all the changes made to the database
by the statements are made permanent. If you end the transaction with the
ROLLBACK statement, the statements do not take effect.

On the face of it, a COMMIT or ROLLBACK on a read only transaction would logically appear to be no different.

However, the underlying I/O operations that RDB executes for either may be different and therefore, the performance between the two may be different in general terms or depend on the size of the database table(s) that the fetch operated on (or the number of rows that it returned).