3. Basic OpenVMS commands (Copy, Dir, Diff
and others)
4. Simple DCL procedures
5. Queue Management
6. Exposure to PCSI and VMSINSTAL
7. Introduction to various devices on an
OpenVMS system
8. Account Management
9. System Security (File Prot, ACLs, etc)
10. OpenVMS Logicals

and many others :)

regards
Mobeen
Ian Miller.
Honored Contributor

Re: VMS training for the absolute beginner

For programming pay particular attention to
Guide to creating modular procedures
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/73final/4518/4518PRO.HTML

Guide to file applications
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/731FINAL/4506/4506PRO.HTML

and the other guides of course.

The main thing is to get them to do things the VMS Way

Hi Ian,

The manuals on modular programming etc. have always been useful. I agree that stressing "doing things the VMS way" is the only way of guaranteeing results. But its quite paintful having to explain multi-tasking and virtual memory to graduates.

Even more painful is having to fix convuluted code where the programmer has failed to understand the underlying concepts (ASTs cause a lot of problem in this case). Still time will tell if my ideas for training in this area work.

cheers

Brian
Willem Grooters
Honored Contributor

Do you have clusters - you will face a very daunting task to have them understand even the basic principles of VMS clustering - the fact you CAN have one system image; you CAN do without data replication; you CAN have more than 16 nodes on a distance of of to 500 miles of signal length, without significant performance costs; you CAN rely on the integrity of the data in case of fatality; you CAN share EVERYTHING without a lot hos hassling around - and that you can have your major applications on line for years and years - without interruption - while replacing ALL hardware, all OS....
I had to explain this once to a Windows guy; I tried for half an hour and all he could come up with was a question how this system could ever work....
Willem Grooters