108860 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: BLADES 35P

SOLVED
Go to solution
Deploying Linux in BLAD
Occasional Contributor

BLADES 35P

Hi, Smart cant detect SAS controllers?. Its my first time to install Blades. I read some installation method and decided to go USB cdrom and SmartStart. After booting the smartStart and going to launch the ACU for raid configuration it seems that SmartStart can detect the SAS controllers..im using 7.70 and 7.60..hope you could answer this....Thank you!
7 REPLIES 7
Deploying Linux in BLAD
Occasional Contributor

Correction, SmartStart can not detect or load any driver for SAS cotroller, Hope you can give me other option in deploying linux on blades servers..thanks
Chris Rosan
Valued Contributor

John,

You don't need smartstart to install linux. You can simply install it from the CD. Blades come with advanced ilo, so you don't need a USB cdrom.

What version & flavour of linux are you running? EG - You can obtain the Redhat (what I use) ISO's from Redhat network and use them to install the server through advanced ilo. If you do it this way it's MUCH faster than installing from CD anyway.

If you have a number of servers, you can use HP RDP (if you got it with your servers, i wouldn't pay extra for it), you can setup an FTP server to install from, and/or use a kickstart disk (should work with all flavours of linux) to setup your server.
Deploying Linux in BLAD
Occasional Contributor

Hi Sir Chris,

Thanks for replying for my inquiry.. We are planning to deploy FedoraCore2. I did the standard installation of Linux. I booted from the CD but unfortunately my cd can not detect my raid controllers. May I ask if there are specific drivers for other flavors of linux..Thanks in advance...

RDP sounds good but as of now there's still no plans for it..

Chris Rosan
Valued Contributor
Solution

Fedora core 2 is quite old. Is there a reason you're not using fedora core 4? I'm not sure if FC2 is supported on the BL35p.