Server Management - Systems Insight Manager
1753325 Members
4625 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Low disk space notifications possible from SIM???

Jason Salgado
Regular Advisor

Low disk space notifications possible from SIM???

Is it possible to get low disk space notifications from HP SIM 5.3 for servers that are configured properly?
Right now a big majority of our production servers need to have the subscription to WBEM events pushed down. When they were built, this was not done, so I don't see a lot of the physical server specs when doing a data report which I am guessing is needed to properly get the notifications if that is even possible.

For servers that are properly set up is there a way to set it up or does HP SIM do it automatically or does it need help from MOM?
Any help would be appreciated as I am new to HP SIM.
Thanks
12 REPLIES 12
Jason Salgado
Regular Advisor

Re: Low disk space notifications possible from SIM???

Well digging around I found that you can go to the system management page of the "individual servers" and set thresholds on the servers themselves.
This is a step in the right direction, but can it be done globally from HP SIM itself? Seeing as we have over 600 servers doing so would be a lot of work.
AdamJ
Frequent Advisor

Yes, it can be done globally. If you go to the configure menu in SIM and then to Disk Thresholds. You will then be able to set thresholds for multiple servers.

Adam
Jason Salgado
Regular Advisor

hum, this is an error message i get when trying to set it from HP SIM...
"Could not set the disk threshold, the agent did not accept the request."

When I went to the server itself, and set the threshold, it is set, but I am not getting any notifications. I set the:
Warning = 20
Critical = 25

Right now I have 21% free disk space on that server and getting no notifications. It is an Win08 server with PSP 8.25A.
AdamJ
Frequent Advisor