New Discussion

Not using as a server

SOLVED
Go to solution
alanleez1968
Occasional Contributor

Not using as a server

hi everyone

im really new to HPE Servers but i dont really want to use one as a server more like a pc. i have been offered a DL850 8G 60Core.

The Provisioning system has failed on it so would i still be able to boot a O/S from the USB?

And also would it still be able to boot from a ssd that has a pre activated windows workstation on it

there is no drives with it etc as usual

many thanks

Alan

5 REPLIES 5
TVVJ
HPE Pro

Re: Not using as a server

Hello,

It may not be possible to directly connect a Windows installed hard drive in the server and expect it to boot from it.

For the server to boot from a logical drive created on the installed hard drive, first, the logical drive has to be created a fresh by connecting it to the embedded "HPE Smart Array P830i/2G FBWC Controller" or any other HPE Smart Array Controller supported by this "HPE ProLiant DL580 Gen8 Server" in question. Once a RAID array is created from the connected drives, the operating system needs to be installed on it.

Regards,

I work for HPE
Views expressed herein are my personal opinion and are not the views of HPE

Accept or Kudo

alanleez1968
Occasional Contributor