Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1753797 Members
7126 Online
108802 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Procurve Vlans

jevans6744

Procurve Vlans

I am kind of new to vlans, done more with cisco than procurve. I need some help to determine if I'm doing this right. Here is my setup.

I have a Procurve 5406zl that has 4 10GB fiber links and then a 24 Port Ethernet modules.
Now the 4 Fiber connections go to each core switch at different buildings, while the ethernet module is my servers and various other things.

What I'm wanting to do is put a VLAN on each of the fiber ports to cut down on broadcast traffic but still want them to be able to talk to each other along with the servers.

What I have done is enable IP routing created 4 vlans on different subnets. Each port I tagged in the appropriate VLAN and that is all I have done.

I'm unsure if this is actually working or if I must untag some ports. The terminology is a little confusing to me so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
8 REPLIES 8
Marco Wessel
Valued Contributor

Re: Procurve Vlans

Probably you don't want the ports to be tagged, unless they connect to another switch with its ports set-up the same way (there are some other reasons).

VLAN tags mean the packets sent out over that link have an extra ethernet header inserted, called a VLAN tag, that tells the receiving equipment what VLAN the packet belongs to. This is useful for trunking VLANs between switches you don't need a link per VLAN. Most of the time to servers and clients, one would not do this.
Jeff Carrell
Honored Contributor

a couple of tidbits:

Cisco - ProVision (ProCurve)
access port = untag port
trunk port = tagged port

Get this CLI ref guide, it shows how to configure HP ProVision, HP Comware5 and Cisco switches for lots of different functions, in a side-by-side comparison, so if you know one CLI, you see how to do it in a different CLI: