New Discussion юеВ

Re: VLAN - Routing/ACL Query

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jeff Carrell
Honored Contributor

Paul said:
"You'll see that by having the two 2910's connected to the existing LAN I'll have an L2 network loop that I'm assuming stp/rstp on the Procurve's will sort out?

We already run RSTP on our core Procurve's on our main LAN though I'm by no means an expert on it."

RSTP is the default level of STP that the 2910's should come up to...depends on version of code, they may have upgraded to MSTP, but if you don't configure MSTP, then it operates as simple RSTP.

HOWEVER, spanning tree is NOT generally enabled by default, you must do a 'span' to enable it on each switch.

The other primary thing to do is define which switch is the root and which is the backup root. (Jeff's best practice)

Decide which switch you want to be the Layer2 root (generally the router or close to it) and do a 'span pri 0', and then decide which switch should be the backup root and do 'span pri 1'.

The default priority setting in ProVision is 8 (actually 8*4k, so its 32768, which is the standard).

Refer to the CLI guide ch 18.

Can't remember if I mentioned the CLI Ref Guide, get it, makes things a bit easier if you just want to config things.

Get this CLI ref guide, it shows how to configure HP ProVision, HP Comware5 and Cisco switches for lots of different functions, in a side-by-side comparison, so if you know one CLI, you see how to do it in a different CLI:
http://h10144.www1.hp.com/docs/training/HP-Networking-and-Cisco-CLI-Reference-Guide_June_10_WW_Eng_ltr.pdf

hth...Jeff
Paul Hutchings
Super Advisor

Thanks Jeff, that CLI guide is useful but not so much for the side by side as I'm not a Cisco person either - more a GUI person with CLI when I have to :-)