5036 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion

help with VLAN setup on HP 1810g

dan_b
Visitor

help with VLAN setup on HP 1810g

Hello:

I'm relatively new to networking and new to using VLANs and hoping I can get some help on what I would think would be a simple setup.  I have a Procurve 1810G switch (8 ports).  The switch is uplinked to a router/gateway (for my internet connection) that is not VLAN aware.  If port 1 is uplinked to the router, I would like the computers on ports 2 thru 4 to be on one VLAN, call it VLAN 200 and ports 5 thru 8 to be on another VLAN, call it VLAN 300.  I want both VLAN 200 and VLAN 300 to share the internet connection (via port 1), but not be able to access each other.  I tried to do this by setting up 3 VLANs, VLAN 100 which included all ports, had port 1 as untagged, and the rest as tagged; VLAN 100, which included port 1 (tagged), ports 2 thru 4 (untagged), and ports 5 thru 8 as excluded; and VLAN 200 which had port 1 (tagged), ports 2 thru 4 excluded, and ports 5 thru 8 as untagged.

I can't reach my router when I use this setup.  I'm wondering if I don't have the tagging correct (but with this switch, a port can have only one untagged VLAN membership).  If the router isn't VLAN aware, does it drop the tagged packets?

Can I acheive my objective with this switch?  If so, what's the proper configuration?

thanks

P.S. This thread has been moved from Switches, Hubs, Modems (Legacy ITRC forum) to Web and Unmanaged - Hp forum Moderator

5 REPLIES 5
LucianoCarvalho
Respected Contributor

Re: help with VLAN setup on HP 1810g

Hello,

If the router is not vlan aware, you will not be able to pass more than one vlan through one port from the switch to the router, and so you will not be able to have comunicate to the internet on the vlans that are tagged on port one.
For that to work you woul need one port on the router for each vlan, and all ports on the switch that will comunicate with the router should be untagged.