New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSsql zero copy clone databases

SOLVED
Go to solution
Fos
Occasional Advisor

MSsql zero copy clone databases

Hi All,

I'm a bit new to Nimble and VMWare, but really need the database clones for our reporting services.

What we are doing having the clone once a day and at worst a 15 minute window of downtime seems about right.

I've read a bit around the clones and remounting the disks, but there doesn't seem to be a end to end solution at the moment for remounting them in SQL.

What I would like to know is

Has anyone done all of this?

Any suggestions on best practice?

Any scripts that people can share, both SQL and VM/Storage.

Thanks

Here is what I've read so far on automating the disk clone

Using PowerShell to provision Nimble Zero Copy Clone to ESXi server

details

windows 2012r2

MSSQL 2014(stanadard/enterprise etc TBA)

on VMWare 5.5

Daily Clones

18 REPLIES 18
david_tan2
Valued Contributor

Hi David,

Does the clone get presented to the same sql server or a different one? How frequently does it get refreshed? What version and edition of sql are you running?

Fos
Occasional Advisor

It is a different SQL server - it is dedicated to data mining, and once a day will be sufficient, however more is always better.

The idea is the SQL server has it's own OS, and local database stores for the report templates and data cubes, based on the data which is a clone of the production systems.

david_tan2
Valued Contributor

What about the version/edition of SQL? Is there any data modification required on the reporting copy during its existence or purely read-only?

Fos
Occasional Advisor

SQL 2014 in the build process atm, I woud not envisage changing the data on the clone, instead the server would have a local Databases set which includes view linking to the cloned data.