New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSsql zero copy clone databases

SOLVED
Go to solution
Fos
Occasional Advisor

Thanks a lot David.

Great things to think about, and given I am the single person dependancy with the Nimble SQL experience I'm leaning towards SQL tools again.  At least then the ones who see the problem can fix it rather than a server admin trying to talk to app developers.

BTW I am a server admin primarily resposible for SQL and hte closet we have to a DBA, however I really manipulate data.

Thanks again I'm going to go away and try some things

aspnerd82

What I would suggest is if you have enterprise edition, create an availability group of your database(s) from your primary production database server to your reporting database server and then create a read-only instance on your reporting server using asynchronous connection between them. This way you report server can 'read' the production data in near real time and you don't have to move it. The data would be trickle copied between servers and be available. You could even switch to synchronous and the data would be there in real-time.

jtmoree23
Advisor

as someone else suggested: Using a slave replication server for the reporting services database works very well.  We have issues when heavy loads hit the primary database so I setup a second mysql server vm which replicates the data from primary in real time.  We only every run reporting services against that database.  Using clones on the nimble is going to be a less efficient and more error prone method to replicate data.

rugby0134
Esteemed Contributor

Here's a good video on doing it with clones - Nimble Storage Demo: SQL Server Recovery - YouTube

aspnerd82

Kevin, that doesn't look like it would really work for his needs. Also it looks to be decent amount of downtime/manual work unless it's something that can be automated to constantly refresh those LUNS on the other server constantly.

Fos
Occasional Advisor
Solution

Thanks everyone