108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle DB and Kernel Parameters

SOLVED
Go to solution
Ketill S. Fenne

Oracle DB and Kernel Parameters

Hi!

We are running Oracle 8.1.7.3 on a dual processor HP server with 1GB RAM running HP-UX 11.00. I need some help from you experts to tune my kernel parameters.

The server is set to run a single database instance. The database will be used to migrate a lot of data between a set of source and target tables. There will only be one database user logged in, and the database will do mostly large inserts / updates with some simple processing.

I am fairly new to HP-UX kernel tuning, and have attached my kernel parameters file.

I believe my database is fairly well-tuned, and we are running a similar windows server with the same database setup which is running the migration around 40% faster...

Best regards
Ketill
13 REPLIES 13
monasingh_1
Trusted Contributor
Solution

well, kernel parameters do help but I think not in the tune of 40% or so. There is definitely something else mismatched as well.
I would look at followings:

01. Disk setup, lv setup, stripping, mirroring
If you have two channels try to balance load among them, use half the disks on one and rest on other, and then use alternate link. So that you utilize both or more channels.

If you have EMC, ask them to see how is their cache utilization. EMC is not very fast on sequential writting with low cache memory.

Disk subsystem may play a significant role in slowing down things.

02. For local disks, mirroring will help read faster but then may impede you with writting if you do a lot of write. Set the mirro_write_consistence to no.

03. Use 64k size stripping and stripe across many number of disks. BUT, if you use EMC then you may be adding hyndreds of seeks unnecesarily by doing stripping, in that case do not use stripping. Very important factor but purely depends what kind of disk subsystem you use.

04. Filesystem block and fragment size and oracle block size.