MSA Storage

Re: Single pool with MSA-DP+ or two pools with RAID5 or 6?

JDDellGuy
Occasional Contributor

Single pool with MSA-DP+ or two pools with RAID5 or 6?

Hello,

I'm new to SAN planning, so I'm discovering a best practice question after already ordering and receiving equipment.

We have a dual controller HP MSA 2062 SAN with 2x 1.9 TB SSD and 12x 1.8TB 10K HDD.

I see that MSA-DP+ is a best practice and 12x HDD is the minimum in order to use that.  However, I see that it's also a best practice to have two storage pools so that the controllers can balance their load effectively.

So I have three options.

1. I can configure a single storage pool with 12x 1.8 TB HDD in MSA-DP+ and the two SSDs as a read cache.
  2. I can configure two storage pools, each consisting of 5x 1.8 TB HDD in RAID 5, 1x SSD for RAID cache, and 1x spare HDD.
  3. I can configure two storage pools, each with 6x 1.8 TB HDD in RAID 6, 1x SSD for RAID cache, and no spare HDDs.

Net storage capacity is sufficient in any of the three scenarios.

I don't like option 2 because the drives are a bit large in capacity for me to be comfortable with the potential rebuild times, even with a hot spare.

I don't like option 3 because it leaves me without any hot spares.

The only downside I see to option 1 is that it leaves me without good load balancing between the two controllers.

What would you do?

1 REPLY 1
JonPaul
HPE Pro

Re: Single pool with MSA-DP+ or two pools with RAID5 or 6?

Great question.

Short Answer:  Option 1 should be used