New Discussion юеВ

Re: Exiting Command Procedure

SOLVED
Go to solution
Joseph Dellwo
Occasional Advisor

Exiting Command Procedure

I'm a newbie so bear with me.
This is probably simple but I can't find the answer anywhere. We run a program called Promis (pcl) which allows users to run .com files but otherwise they don't interact directly with VMS. I've written a Command Procedure that will then run a script back in Promis, ie:
$ pcl @hivac:HIVAC
Now they are back in Promis but my Procedure is still running.
My question is, Is there a way to issue a command and exit the procedure without having to quit Promis and return to DCL to allow the procedure to continue. Leaving it running causes problems later.
I hope this makes sense. I've attached my .com file.

Thanks, Joe
16 REPLIES 16
Aaron Lewis_1
Frequent Advisor

Joe, you would need to keep Promis in control of the stream of events, it should execute the DCL, then return. When you re-run the PCL script from DCL, the DCL procedure is in control, and will continue to run until the user exits from Promis, then exits from DCL.

How are calling this from Promis, does it support a 'shell' or 'spawn' command?
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Joe,

As a start, let me elcome you to the VMS Forum!

please rename any attachments to .COM before posting!

Proost.

Have one on me.

jpe
Don't rust yours pelled jacker to fine doll missed aches.
Aaron Lewis_1
Frequent Advisor

Jan, I think you meant to say:

Please rename to .TXT before posting.
Arch_Muthiah
Honored Contributor

Joe,

No idea about your pcl program.

You have problem with only this .com procedure? or with all com procedure?

In this "$pcl @hivac:HIVAC", is HIVAC your .COM file?, if that is the case, you did not pass the value for P1.

When you run your .com procedure you attached, displayed any message on the terminal?

What is the "status" of your .com procedure which keeps running?

Try running small .com procedure with only one statement like