1756704 Members
2232 Online
108852 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Services in HP-UX

SiddhV

Services in HP-UX

Hi All,
I am new to Hp-Ux. I want to know the command to list all the active services. How to check which services will be running for particular runlevel. How to start or stop the service and how to check its status.

In linux I use to use
#chkconfig --list

Is there any command in HP-UX similar to it?

Thanks in Advance....
Appreciate revert.
9 REPLIES 9
rariasn
Honored Contributor

Hi,

# man rc

rgs,
stephen peng
Valued Contributor

you can edit /etc/services to enable or disable services on HP-UX.
stephen peng
Valued Contributor

sorry I misunderstood and just made a mistake. you could find the services similiar to output of chkconfig --list in /sbin/init.d, and symbolic links are at /sbin/rc*.d(* represent run level), and you could configure services to be started at specific run level by edit configuration file at /etc/rc.config.d. As rariasn said, you can man rc for detail information.
SiddhV

Thanks for Ur prompt response...
But still my purpose is not solved completely...
What if for eg. I want to start lp service in runlevel 3.
How do i chk its status if it is running or hanged or stopped.
(sry guys I am linux guy so trying to relate things with linux.. pls bare with me :-( )
Like in linux it would clearly give like:
#service lp start
lp is started.
# service lp status
lp is running
#

Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> you can edit /etc/services to enable or
> disable services on HP-UX.

Not really. You can edit "/etc/services".
That may or may not enable or disable
anything. The world would be a better place
if people stopped offering advice like this.
stephen peng
Valued Contributor

>The world would be a better place
>if people stopped offering advice like this.

The world would be a much better place if people could show their generosity when thing not going as they wish.

read the reply below my first reply.
stephen peng