BladeSystem - General
1748112 Members
3462 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

General BLADE QUESTIONS!!!!!! Please help!

SOLVED
Go to solution
damonique
Occasional Contributor

General BLADE QUESTIONS!!!!!! Please help!

Hello All,

I am very new to BLADES. My knowledge is limited at this moment with blades. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with
pointing me to the right direction or telling me there best practices on BLADES. I'm trying to develop a "best practice" guide for myself.

What I need;

1. I need a list of what things customers can do to shoot themselves in the foot and cause problems on a BLADE

2. things that could take the blade down or degrade the performance.

3. A list of tings that need to be done to keep the BLADE healthy.
3 REPLIES 3
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: General BLADE QUESTIONS!!!!!! Please help!

Question 1.)
Most of these things are installation-related.

* A set of blade servers will achieve a higher density of servers per unit of volume than an equivalent number of traditional servers. That means, one rack full of blades will require more I/O connections (LAN, SAN, whatever you need), more power (maybe not so many plugs in total, but watch out for the amperage) and more cooling than one full rack of traditional servers. If you don't prepare for this, it will cause nasty surprises.

* The density of cables in the back of a blade rack may become very high too. Plan your cabling well, don't leave any excess cable lengths at the back of the blade rack (try to get your cables just the appropriate length) and use cable ties and support hooks. You'll want to arrange your cables as neatly and cleanly as you can get, and have the discipline to keep it so... because otherwise the cabling will eventually degrade into a nightmarish spaghetti. It can happen quicker than you'd believe.