New Discussion юеВ

Re: ILO access.

SOLVED
Go to solution
bullz
Super Advisor

ILO access.

Hello Guruz,

I am very new to HP blade servers, I could able to access the ILO via webpage, but when I try to connect to sever, I am getting the below error.
Someone please help me.

HP CLI Commands:

POWER : Control server power.
UID : Control Unit-ID light.
NMI : Generate an NMI.
VM : Virtual media commands.
VSP : Invoke virtual serial port.

hpiLO-> VM
An iLO 2 License key is required to use Virtual Media.

тАв Note: Points will be given without fail.
6 REPLIES 6
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

VM means Virtual Media: i.e. you could let the server use your workstation's CD-ROM, floppy drive or USB stick, or present an .iso image file on your workstation as a virtual CD-ROM drive to the blade. It has nothing to do with accessing the server's display.

As it says, the Virtual Media functionality requires an iLO 2 license key. If you have such a license key, access the iLO webpage, then go to Licensing and type in the key.

Is this a new blade with no OS installed yet? Which OS is this blade supposed to have? This command menu looks like the iLO of a Proliant blade, so it will never run HP-UX. An Integrity (Itanium) blade would present a somewhat different menu.

The VSP command might give you a command-line-based remote console... *if* the OS has been configured to present one to the iLO virtual serial port.

See pages 78-82 on the iLO User Guide to see what's possible with the VSP and how to configure your OS to allow it:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00209014/c00209014.pdf

MK
MK
bullz
Super Advisor

Thanks for the voluble info.

To add more, Linux OS has been installed and up and running on two blades.
My problem here is, I unable to access the iLO via putty.

As soon as I am login I am getting the below prompt.