New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP HSV200 SCSI Array Device

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mihai F
Occasional Advisor

HP HSV200 SCSI Array Device

Hello,

I am new at the SAN configuration, so I need all the help I can get.

I was assigned to install and configura a SAN solution, and I hope I get the most part done. Here is what I have:
- one HP EVA 4100
- two HP StorageWorks 4/8 Base SAN Switches
- one HP DL380 G5 Base Storage Server
- one one MSL4048 LTO 4 Fiber Channel Tape Library

So far, after a huge amount of research I think I got the Switches configured, whit Aliases, and Zones to proper ports. Also, I created Disk groups, vdisks, and hoasts. Now I have to preset the disk to a hoast, but the server does not see any disk.
Looking at a different server, similar configuration as mine (on a different network, not the one I'm in) I saw in Device Manager, for the Disks, the "HP HSV200 SCSI Array Device", which does not show on my server. The only disks I see on my server, are the phisycal disks that the server has.
Could this be just a driver issue? Everything looks good in device manager; I don't have any pop-ups for installing any driver, but I still cannot see the Presented vdisk.
Is there any specific task involved on the server to see the presented vdisk? I just go in Disk Management and rescan for disks after any change I made, but still nothing.
What am I missing?
Any sugestions would be really appreciated.

Thank you
23 REPLIES 23
Martin Smoral
Trusted Contributor
Solution

Did you install the HBA driver on the Server ?

Does the WWN of the HBA show up in the EVA4100 hosts lists ? if so then give the wwn's a alias using the server name.

Then use the presention tab on the Vdisk and present the lun to the server.

Then the server should see the lun in disk administrator, rescan your disks or reboot if it doesnt.

regards
Martin Smoral
Trusted Contributor