New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA 2040 Controller performance bottleneck

SOLVED
Go to solution
steez
Frequent Advisor

MSA 2040 Controller performance bottleneck

Hello Everyone,

We have a MSA 2040 storage array with 20 1.8TB SFF SAS drives, and 4x400GB Read-cache SSDs for each controller respectively. 10 disks each pool and volume with RAID6. We would like to add an D2700 enclousure populated with 12 LFF SSDs. 

Average IOPS that performance monitor lists for Volumes are about 300-2000 depending on hot hours. Controller CPU load is about 25-30%

The question is - how much IOPS can MSA 2040 controllers process before they become bottlencks? Couldnt really find such information online, only some various test numbers. Can try to provide additional numbers, screenshots, im new in storage world.

3 REPLIES 3
HPSDMike
HPE Pro

I'm not aware of published maximums from a controller standpoint. However, looking at the product quick specs, you'll find a multitude of performance test numbers noted in the tables. These were actual performance tests conducted, with the exact configuration noted. From my perspective, I would think you could look at the "all SSD" tests as being fairly closely related to what the controller limits would be.

https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/v2/getdocument.aspx?docname=c04123144

Also, while it is not required, you will be able to get the most performance potential out of the array by having all your SSDs in the base shelf with the controllers. This allows access to the SSDs without traversing the SAS interconnects.

A D2700 is a SFF shelf, you mention LFF drives. Also, the D2700 has recently been replaced with the MSA 2050 SFF Expansion shelf. You can use this on your MSA 2040; just make sure the controller firmware is at GL225R003.

I work for HPE. The comments in this post are my own and do not represent an official reply from the company. No warranty or guarantees of any kind are expressed in my reply.

Accept or Kudo

steez
Frequent Advisor

Hi Mike,