1755443 Members
3535 Online
108833 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Connecting multiple LAN's through a single HP-UX system

John Urchek
Occasional Contributor

Connecting multiple LAN's through a single HP-UX system

I am new to managing network configurations and have been presented with a problem that I have been unable to solve.

We have 9 HP-UX workstations at one site that are on a private local LAN that is actually connected to a WAN for another organization through a T1 line.

We recently installed another HP-UX system at another facility and connected it to the primary LAN. We want this system to be able to see the data on all of the other 9 systems.

We installed a second LAN card in one of the 9 systems and set it up on the primary LAN. We have established communications on a one-to-one basis between the two systems connected to the primary LAN.

I thought that the solution to get the one system to see the 8 other systems was with the route command, but I could not make it work.

Important Note: The vendor for these systems which run complex custom software, went out of business a while back so they are still running 10.20.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John
5 REPLIES 5
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Shalom John,

Depending on the physical wiring arrangements you may try adding a virtual ip address to the other 8 stations on the same LAN as the second card that connects outside properly.

The primary lan in /etc/rc.config.d/netconf is [0] set up a secondary as [1]

If that does not work, you are likely to need 8 LAN cards and physical connectivity to make this work.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Let's see if I understood this correctly.

There seems to be two network segments:
- the private local LAN of 9 workstations