108895 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Need help - script for adding users

SOLVED
Go to solution
Angie_1
Regular Advisor

Need help - script for adding users

I need some help writing a script to add users.
I am very new to writing scripts and have read a bit on case statements and half way understand them.
So I would prefer it to be written with the case statement if that can be done.
Can someone please help me?

Thx..Angie
12 REPLIES 12
Angie_1
Regular Advisor

Re: Need help - script for adding users

I wanted to add that if the "if" and "then" can be done I somewhat understand that too. I am trying my best to learn but still need some help.

Thx..Angie
Sridhar Bhaskarla
Honored Contributor

Hi,

You will need to input the information about the logins somehow. Let's say you have an input file in this format

#cat user_input

user1 - 5000 - User1, some info - 20 - /usr/bin/ksh
user2 - 5001 - User2, some info - 20 - /sbin/sh
user3 - 5002 - User3, some info - 20 - /sbin/csh

You can write a very simple script like this

#!/usr/bin/ksh

cat user_input |while read line
do
USER=$(echo $line|awk '{FS="-";print $1}')
UID=$(echo $line|awk '{FS="-";print $2}')
GECOS=$(echo $line|awk '{FS="-";print $3}')
GID=$(echo $line|awk '{FS="-";print $4}')
SHL=$(echo $line|awk '{FS="-";print $5}')
echo "Adding $USER"
useradd -u $UID -g $GID -s $SHL -c "$GECOS" -m -k /etc/skel $USER
passwd -df $USER
done

The above will force reset the passwords of the users so that when then login, it will prompt to chage their passwords.

It is a security risk. You can generate a an encrypted password and enter it into passwd file. You can search in the forums and find the ways of doing it. There are quite a number of threads on it.

I hope it can help you to start with.
-Sri

You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don't try
Angie_1
Regular Advisor

I guess I should have explained a little bit better.