Operating System - OpenVMS
1752809 Members
6083 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Need to know Password for OpenVMS System.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Malps
Advisor

Need to know Password for OpenVMS System.

Hi
I am an absolute newbie as far as OpenVMS is concerned.
I have a OpenVMS IA64 V8.3 on a HP rx2620.This is a new machine sent out by our another office.

I have booted this system but I dont know the username & password for this.From some of the threads I referred I came to know that username could be SYSTEM,but how can I reset it's password.I came to know from the threads that there is no sigle user mode in OpenVMS.

Please Guide me to reset the password so that I can get into the system.

Thanks In Advance

Malps!!
6 REPLIES 6
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Malps,

Welcome to the HP ITRC OpenVMS Forum.

The physical procedure for gaining access to a system whose password has been lost is documented in the OpenVMS FAQ and effectively documented in the System Manager's manual (which is available from the OpenVMS www site at http://www.hp.com/go/openvms).

As an admitted newbie, I strongly recommend an easier and far safer course of action: Contact the office that sent you the system and get the username and password information from them.

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Malps,

Let me begin with welcoming you to VMS!!!

Obviously, your prefered route would by to request from the original office what is the password for SYSTEM (or the name and password of any other privileged account).

Barring that, there is something remotely equivalent to *UX single mode:
booting into SYSBOOT.

Regrettably, I have virtually no experience with IA64, so you will need to check your documentation or wait for someone else to get there, but once you boot into SYSBOOT, (only possible AT THE CSYSTEM CONSOLE) the booting stops before loading system parameters at the
SYSBOOT>
prompt.
Here you specify
SET UAFALTERNATE 1
and
C