3725 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: PHP FIle Names on OpenVMS

Steve Calnek
Advisor

PHP FIle Names on OpenVMS

Hi,

I'm new to the world of running PHP applications on my VMS server and am hoping someone can help.

A good many PHP files in the app I'm trying to install follow a naming convention,

"filename.inc.php"

VMS does not like the second period of course.

My question is..... Is there away to set the system to allow these files without messing up the rest of my system?

Not sure what info about my system will help so here's the basics,

AlphaServer DS10
OpenVMS v8.3 with update 7.0
TCPIP v5.6-9 ECO3
CSWS v2.1-1 with CSWS 211 update v2.0
CSWS_PHP v1.3 with update v2.0

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Steve Calnek/
7 REPLIES 7
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Of PHP I know nothing, but on an ODS5 disk,
extended file names (multiple dots, funny
characters, and so on) are possible.

The C run-time library behavior is controlled
by flags which may be set internally by the
program, or externally using CRTL Feature
Logical Names:

HELP CRTL Feature_Logical_Names

Which ones will do what you want without
breaking things depends on how the software
was ported to VMS. Knowing nothing, I can't
advise much here, but popular ones include:

DECC$ARGV_PARSE_STYLE (Depends on SET
PROCESS /PARSE_STYLE = EXTENDED)
DECC$EFS_CHARSET
DECC$EFS_CASE_PRESERVE

I'd expect the documentation to cover this
sort of thing, but what do I know?
Steve Calnek
Advisor

Thanks Steve,

I had missed pointing out that my disk structure is infact ODS-5. I'll take a look at these libraries you've pointed out.

FYI, the tool I'm trying to install is called NET2FTP, its a slick web based ftp client I'm hoping to use with some of my more.... less technically inclined users. I could just drop it on a Windoze box but I'd rather keep it self contained on VMS.