108809 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HP SIM Service Account Question.

Andy328i
Occasional Advisor

HP SIM Service Account Question.

Hello,

This is my first time posting.

I tried researching this but was not able to find the answer I was looking for.

I currently have a Domain Account with Domain Admin access tied to the HP Insight Manger.

I would like to use a Service Account without Domain Admin access. 

I have created a Domain Service Account without Domain Admin access and modified the database.props and database.admin files::: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&objectID=c01460027&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN

After following these steps and successfully configuring these files, I was not able to open HP Systems Insight Manager.

For Troubleshooting purposes, I added the new Service Account to the Domain Admins group and everything operated as normal. 

However, this is not acceptable for our environment and I would like to know if there is a way to make this possible without Domain Admin access.

Thanks in Advance!

7 REPLIES 7
ICS
Frequent Advisor

Sorry i cant provide a link but in the SIM User guide 6.3 page 19 check for spn
Andy328i
Occasional Advisor

Thanks.. I found the Guide and followed it but still came up with the same results.

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c02786632/c02786632.pdf

I'm going to do a little more research but I'm afraid that I'm going to wipe the system and start over from scratch.

ICS
Frequent Advisor

Make sure the domain account is added to the local admin group on the system. It's a domain admin account it's a system admin
Andy328i
Occasional Advisor

The account is added as a Local Administrator group.  It is not a Domain Admin.

It works great when the account is set as a DA but as soon as it is removed from the DA group and the HP Insight Manager service is restarted, Insight Manager stops working.

Thanks for your help and quick replies!

ICS