108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: 1920 switches VOIP

SOLVED
Go to solution
Dunky
Regular Advisor

1920 switches VOIP

I am new to these switches, having previoulsy used Cisco and ProCurves.

I have three issues that are really causing me stress at present as I just cannot get them to work.  Rather than posting all three issues I will keep each post to a single issue.

There are seven 1920-24G-PoE+ switches in the configuration.

This issue is with VOIP.

I need to know how to configure a port for a Splicecom phone with a PC connected to it. Technical info on Splicecom is somewhat scarce in the internet to say the least!

I assume the phone needs to tag its voice packets but how does it kjow it needs to be in VLAN 4 - will it boot untagged and get a DHCP address from the DHCP scope assocaited with the untagged vlan on the port and then use a DHCP optioin to reboot into the correct VLAN and tag voice packets?  If so does anyone know what DHCP option needs to be set and what value?

Does anyone have a config for a voice port (with PC connected via phone) they would be willing to share with me together with any other config needed (trunk ports between switches, do I really need to use the special 'voice' vlan)?

Many thanks

Steve

10 REPLIES 10
16again
Respected Contributor

First, take a look at phone  specs.  There are multiple known methods to make phone use voice vlan:

-DHCP option, like you mentioned
-LLDP
-CDP (cisco only)
-Untagged, NAC based mapping to voice LAN

Dunky
Regular Advisor

I think half the problem is not being able to find any technical info on Splicecom phones (PCS552) anywhere on the web,

I am also unsure how to configure the switchport and if there are any special requirements on the trunks between switches. I have read the manaul but none the wiser as to what the correct switchport config should be which is why ideally I am trying to get hold of a sample config that I can modify and restore to the switch.