Alliances
1753971 Members
7387 Online
108811 Solutions
New Article
EIC_Alliances

Let Cloud Technology Partners equip your MSP business for greater success

By Kent Kingery

I’m a veteran of the managed outsourcing and application service provider (ASP) era. I’ve seen the managed service provider (MSP) space grow exponentially in the last several years. This growth is primarily being driven by two factors. CTP-logo-and-tagline (1).png

First, the increasing complexity of today’s hybrid computing landscapes at scale requires IT organizations to develop and maintain an ever-growing set of operational capabilities. And while these capabilities are important, there are practical limitations to how much can be shouldered by traditional IT. 

Second, IT leaders are under pressure to reduce or eliminate the day-to-day operational duties so they can focus on creating strategic capabilities. Implementing big data and analytics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, and Internet of Things (IoT) - to name only a few -  requires IT to move away from “keeping the lights on” and toward a more strategic approach to providing IT services. 

The cloud solves all… or does it? 

The standard answer in recent years has been “Move to the cloud. It will solve all your IT problems.” But nothing could be further from the truth! While it’s clear that utilizing cloud platforms can ease the acquisition and even the initial implementation of application platform environments, there are numerous challenges to be faced, especially for small-to-medium sized businesses (SMB) and mid-market organizations. 

That’s where the MSP plays a vital role: assuming the operational responsibility for the IT landscape while enabling an organization’s staff to attack the problems that require deep domain expertise. And in order for the MSP to serve its customers properly, it needs to be equipped to meet the challenges of managing the “new normal”: hybrid IT. 

Meeting the challenges