1755643 Members
3171 Online
108837 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA1000 - Performance issues

vdemsky
Occasional Contributor

MSA1000 - Performance issues

I'm having some performance issues with my DL360 G4p with an MSA1000 SAN. I inherited this configuration and it is being used as my primary SQL Server. I started testing to determine how things were performing and the results are leading me to investigate the storage system. I wondered if anyone could read over some of my data and provide some basic insight here -- I'm just looking for someone to point me in the right direction (do I need to change a config, call support etc). I have limited experience with configuring a SAN. I've tried to provide as much information as I can -- please let me know if additional info would help. Any comments or thoughts are appreciated.

ProLiant DL360 G4p
Windows Server 2003
Intel Xeon 3.60 GHz
6 GB Ram

MSA1000
FW: 4.48
Rebuild Priority: Medium
Expand Priority: Low
Current Surface Scan Delay: 3 sec
Number of Arrays: 2
Number of Logical Drives: 2
Number of Physical Drives: 14
Cache Status: Enabled
Accelerator Ratio: 40% Read /60% Write
Read Cache Size: 103 MB
Write Cache Size: 153 MB
Battery Pack Count: 1
Battery Status: OK

I've attached a file with different windows performance counters that I have collected. I'm concerned with the Avg. Disk sec/Read and Avg. Disk sec/Write counters. The Disk Read Bytes/sec and Disk Write Bytes/sec also seem to be very low. I collected a number of other counters during this time so let me know if I should look at a different counter.

Once again. Any help is appreciated. I'm sure troubleshooting this is extremely complex so I understand there is no quick solution. I'd just like some help getting started on the right path.

Thanks.
6 REPLIES 6
IBaltay
Honored Contributor

Hi,
it can be also perf tested via the show perf command:
http://bizsupport.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c01183955/c01183955.pdf