2573 Online
108837 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Cancel a pending BIOS change?

Galant
Frequent Visitor

Cancel a pending BIOS change?

Hi,

Is it possible to cancel a pending command sent in the iLO restful app to reset the BIOS to defaults?

I'm new to iLO and recently had to look at a server configured by someone else. I couldn't see if iLO had been configured but found the restful app and was hoping to get some sort of config output. I made the stupid mistake of running the biosdefaults command thinking it would output the current defaults, not reset the BIOS to default.

As such I've got a pending BIOS reset on next restart. Is it possible to cancel it?

8 REPLIES 8
TVVJ
HPE Pro

Hello,

I think that this activity cannot be reverted or cancelled. The activity will proceed as programmed.

Regards,

I work for HPE
Views expressed herein are my personal opinion and are not the views of HPE

Accept or Kudo

Galant
Frequent Visitor

Thanks.

It was suggested that I could try running the same command again but with the --userdefaults switch. The hope being that it would maintain the saved user settings, but they were unable to confirm. 

Does that sound feasible?

Also, would a BIOS reset remove the RAID, or is that sitting with the controller?

TVVJ
HPE Pro

Hello,

Resetting BIOS will not remove the RAID configuration.

Regards,

I work for HPE
Views expressed herein are my personal opinion and are not the views of HPE

Accept or Kudo

SydUmar_1
HPE Pro

Hello,
If the RAID is configured as a Software RAID (S100i controller), it would reset the RAID. However, if you are using a MR, SR Storage controller, resetting the BIOS will not make any difference. 

I'm an HPE employee.
[Any personal opinions expressed are mine, and not official statements on behalf of Hewlett Packard Enterprise]
Accept or Kudo
Galant
Frequent Visitor

I really appreciate all your help.

Is there a way I can confirm what RAID controller it has?

It's an ML350 Gen 10 P11051-421.