Advancing Life & Work
1776924 Members
1842 Online
109061 Solutions
New Article ๎ฅ‚
Labs_Editorial

From Tech Enthusiast to Innovation and Operations Project Coordinator

Maya Fischer scans the Hewlett Packard Labs exhibit space at HPE Discover 2024 with Labs Director Andrew Wheeler.Maya Fischer scans the Hewlett Packard Labs exhibit space at HPE Discover 2024 with Labs Director Andrew Wheeler.

GUEST BLOG: By Maya Fischer, Innovation and Operations Project Coordinator, Hewlett Packard Labs

When I completed my Impact MBA program at Colorado State University in December of 2022, I was hungry for the next challenge ahead: entering the workforce and making a difference, not just in theory but also in practice. I was over the moon when I was accepted for the Innovation and Operations Project Coordinator position at the renowned Hewlett Packard Labs organization. The prospect of wearing multiple different thinking hats and getting to pick the brains of some of the best researchers around the globe filled me with excitement.

The fervent dedication to fostering an equitable future for all propels my work at Labs and beyond, where I currently oversee and lead about 20 projects in collaboration with various teams. These projects range from marketing and communication efforts to sustainability initiatives in the human rights, supply chain, technology advancement, and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) space to procurement and event planning. Within Labs, I currently oversee a life cycle assessment pilot project, the refresh of our external website, coordination of Labs' show floor presence at the recent HPE Discover conference, and the development of our โ€œGet to Know the Innovatorโ€ LinkedIn series, to name a few. Beyond Labs, I mainly collaborate with HPEโ€™s Ethics and Compliance Office on leading labor KPI and supplier sustainability assessments, as well as grievance mechanism and supplier diversity efforts. All in all, a pretty awesome list of responsibilities.