Advancing Life & Work
1770941 Members
3100 Online
109003 Solutions
New Article
DesireeCH

My journey as Mainframe Deep Technical Support Engineer at HPE

Did you know that more than 80% of the world’s corporate data resides on the mainframe? Learn how it is done...

HPE20160526158_800_0_72_srgb.jpg

I work as a Mainframe Deep Technical Support Engineer as part of the EMEA Mainframe hardware team. We are responsible for the mainframe hardware environment in Germany, Italy and UK. Mainframe services is a critical technology with a “Zero downtime”, 100% immune to all computer viruses. It is a high end technology even for programs written on the first generation mainframe 50 years ago, and will still run on the latest 13th generation mainframe, the z13 and it uses the most powerful processor on the planet.

I am responsible for all the upgrades, decommissions of old equipment, configuration and design of Mainframe hardware, break/fix replacements with hardware vendors like Oracle, IBM and more. Working in such a big and professional team is a great opportunity, as I am able to learn a lot from my colleagues, not only for the Mainframe hardware and software, but also for Storage and Networking as well, which broadens my opportunities for future development.

In HPE, everyone can drive their own career. There are two main paths – Technical and non-technical and it is never too late to change the direction, but I’ve decided to improve my knowledge and experience as a Technical Support Engineer.

Svetlin’s team in the officeSvetlin’s team in the office